Washing Of Feet

Yesterday my son ate rice and as usual it ended up mostly on the floor. And of course he walked all over it when he got up from the table, which lead to messy feet for both of us. Since it was so gross we had to wash our feet. And I got to thinking why don’t we wash people’s feet anymore? I felt so refreshed after doing that. Like in some way it was a mini shower or something.

The history of this practice stems mainly from Christianity and Jesus Christ. Jesus did the foot washing to his apostles. To show them humility and to show them that one is not better then the other.

John

14 “If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet.

15 For I have given you an example, that you should do as I have done to you.

16 Most assuredly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master; nor is he who is sent greater than he who sent him.

17 If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them.”

Although the idea of having to wash someone’s feet for them is pretty gross. Which is probably why this tradition died. But I think I will be picking up this habit for myself.

 

Don’t want to get your feet washed but want some pretty shoes to put them in? 

One thought on “Washing Of Feet

Tell Me What You Think...

